Points for the titles of World Champion Driver(s) and World Champion Manufacturer, as well as those for the Cup and Trophies, are awarded at each race (other than the Le Mans 24 Hours) according to the following scale:

  • 1st: 25 points
  • 2nd: 18 points
  • 3rd: 15 points
  • 4th: 12 points
  • 5th: 10 points
  • 6th: 8 points
  • 7th: 6 points
  • 8th: 4 points
  • 9th: 2 points
  • 10th: 1 point

Beyond 10th position: 0.5 point (1 point at Le Mans) will be awarded to any car finishing in the overall classification in a round of the World Endurance Championship.

In each of the four categories, one additional point will be awarded to the team taking pole position, as well as to all the drivers of the car in question.

Points allocation is doubled for the Le Mans 24 Hours.


For all the above classifications, an additional point will be awarded, at each Event, to the «pole position» team, as well as to all the drivers making up the crew of the cars concerned, in each category (best time achieved by the car in each category during qualifying).

Two drivers from each crew must set at least one timed lap during qualifying. The average of the two best lap times (the best lap of each driver) will serve as the reference time for establishing the grid.


  • Only those competitors appearing on the official list of entries in the Championship are entitled to score points for the Championship titles.
  • «Additional cars» and «complementary cars” will not be allowed to score points for the Championship titles, but will retain their place in the classification at the end of each Championship Event, while being «invisible» for the various classifications. The drivers of additional cars entered by a manufacturer registered for the World Championship will be entitled to score points for the Drivers’ World Championship, regardless of the number of cars entered by that competitor in each event, their group and their category


For the LMP1 and LMGTE Pro categories:

To be able to score points, a driver must categorically drive for a minimum of 40 minutes during the race. A driver may not drive for more than 4 hours and 30 minutes in total.


For the LMP2 category:

A driver must categorically have driven for a minimum of 1 hour and 15 minutes during the race. A driver may not drive for more than 3 hours and 30 minutes in total.


For the LMGTE Am category:

All Bronze and Silver-rated drivers must categorically have driven for a minimum of 1 hour and 45 minutes during the race. All Gold and Platinum drivers must categorically have driven for a minimum of 45 minutes during the race.  A driver may not drive for more than 3 hours and 30 minutes in total irrespective of categorisation.

For cars without air conditioning, if the maximum ambient temperature predicted during a race is higher than 32°C (or at the stewards’ discretion), the maximum consecutive driving time must not exceed 80 minutes throughout the duration of the race.

The minimum rest time between stints is 30 mins. The maximum ambient temp predicted will be published 2 hours before the start of the race.


There will be only one safety car in operation at a time, except for circuits of over 7 km in length, where other safety cars, positioned at intermediate points around the circuit, may be authorised by the FIA Race Director. There will be 3 safety cars at the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

During the first three laps of the safety car, the pit entry will be closed.  Any car entering the pits during these first three laps shall be allowed to refuel for only 5 seconds and/or replace a (the) damaged tyre(s), on condition that after the third lap, or as soon as the pit entry opens, the car comes back in again for refuelling and/or a tyre change. In this case the car may only cross the line on the track once before entering for refuelling and/or a tyre change.  


The car placed first is the one that covered the greatest distance up to the showing of the chequered flag (the position of the cars on the starting grid is not taken into account).

To be classified, a car must:

a) Cross the finish line on the race track when the chequered flag is shown, except in a case of force majeure at the Stewards’ discretion. It is prohibited to stop on the race track pending the

showing of the chequered flag;

b) Have covered at least 70% of the distance covered by the car classified in first place in the overall classification.

c) The official number of laps will be rounded down to the nearest whole number.


(Performance and Technologies)

In order to limit the gap in performance between the hybrid and non-hybrid cars, the Endurance Committee may adapt the performance of the non-hybrid cars.

Equivalence systems between the different LMP1 propulsion technologies.

A. The reference will be the calculation of the average lap time of the fastest car in each technology. The average lap time will be calculated over the number of laps corresponding to 20% of the distance of the races (average of the best laps). The models of the cars with the slowest technologies must have participated in at least two races and must have been properly classified in order to be able to benefit from the application of the rule.

B. The Endurance Committee may adjust the allocation of energy by + or – 10 MJ (reference for a lap of the Le Mans 24 Hours circuit) for all LMP1 cars in order to adjust the global level of performance.

Equivalence of Technology of the LMP1 cars

The principles of the Equivalence of Technologies (EoT) will be applied up to and including the 2017 Le Mans 24 Hours event.  Upon examination of the data collected during the 2017 Le Mans 24 Hours event, the criteria of the EoT will be defined for application up to last event of the 2017 championship.

The calculation formulae, the list of data communicated by the manufacturers and the list of sensors required will be published by the Endurance Committee.

It will be up to the Endurance Committee to settle any questions that might arise concerning the application and/or interpretation of these elements in the last resort.


LMP2 cars

The FIA and the ACO do not wish to encourage the Manufacturers to invest in LMP2 in any developments which improve the performance of the cars.  The main objectives for these cars must be reliability, safety and a low maintenance cost.

The Endurance Committee will favour reducing the performance of the fastest models rather than increasing the performance of the slower models.

The Endurance Committee may proceed to adjust the balance of performance of the different LMP2 cars and engines. The parameters liable to be modified are as follows:

  • Engine power up to -5%
  • Weight up to +30 kg
  • Fuel tank capacity up to -10 litres

Adjustments to performance are the responsibility of the Endurance Committee alone.

LMGTE cars

In line with its aims, the Committee is allowed to balance the performance of the GTE cars as defined by the applicable technical regulations, and the following modifications may be applied:

  • Minimum weight of the car
  • Engine air restrictor and boost pressure ratio
  • Fuel tank capacity
  • Height of the rear wing
  • Any other technical modification that the Endurance Committee may deem necessary


Composition of the crews – 3 drivers maximum per crew.

LMP1: Bronze drivers are not permitted

LMP2: A crew of 2 or 3 drivers must include at least one Silver or Bronze driver.

LMGTE Pro: The composition of the crews is free

LMGTE Am: A crew of 2 or 3 drivers must include at least 1 Bronze and 1 Bronze or Silver


All decisions concerning the categorisations are taken under the authority of the FIA Drivers’ Categorisation Committee. Full information available on the FIA website here
The full 2017 FIA Sporting & Technical regulations are available to download from the WEC MEDIA AREA