WEC drivers celebrate Daytona success
Photo: WEC / Adrenal

WEC drivers celebrate Daytona success

Several FIA WEC drivers were in action at the Rolex 24 at Daytona over the weekend including Toyota Gazoo Racing’s Kamui Kobayashi who took his second consecutive outright win at the IMSA classic.

Kobayashi, together with team-mates Renger van der Zande, Scott Dixon and Ryan Briscoe, completed a record 833 laps with Wayne Taylor Racing to break the previous best of 808 set two seasons ago.

In LMP2, DragonSpeed’s Ben Hanley – who also competes with Team LNT in the WEC - secured the coveted Rolex winners’ watches alongside team-mates Henrik Hedman, Colin Braun and Harrison Newey – the latter completing a WEC rookie test in Bahrain last month.

A special mention goes to regular Team Project 1 LMGTE Am driver Ben Keating who finished second in LMP2 and was the only competitor at Daytona to take on a double-duty driving role after also competing in the Michelin Endurance Cup. Kudos to Ben! 

The GTLM class saw several WEC regulars competing including Matt Campbell who finished third in a Porsche 911 RSR. The Corvette C8.R – which will also be in action at next month’s WEC race in COTA – finished fourth on its race debut.

The WEC would like to pass its congratulations to all the winners of this year’s Rolex 24! 

Miss the big WEC/IMSA convergence news from Friday? Watch the full press conference HERE.