Breaking News: Webber, Bernhard and Hartley crowned champions

Webber, Hartley and Bernhard crowned champions

Mark Webber, Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard celebrated being crowned the 2015 FIA World Endurance Drivers’ Champions after a thrilling Bapco 6 Hours of Bahrain today.

Driving the No.17 Porsche 919 Hybrid, the trio finished in fifth position after recovering from technical problems which saw them lose many laps in the pits. With the sister No.18 Porsche 919 Hybrid of Neel Jani, Marc Lieb and Romain Dumas winning the race from the No.7 Audi Sport Team Joest car of Andre Lotterer, Marcel Fassler and Benoit Treluyer, it ensured that the No.17 Porsche drivers enjoyed a five point advantage in the provisional championship standings.

The No.26 G-Drive Ligier of Sam Bird, Roman Rusinov and Julien Canal took the silverware in both the LMP2 Drivers’ and Team’s championships in style with a late charge to victory. Sam Bird overtook Nick Tandy’s KCMG ORECA in the closing stages to confirm a fourth win of the season.

The LMP1 Privateers class saw a clear victory for the No.13 Rebellion Racing R-One-AER of Dominik Kraihamer and Alexandre Imperatori.

The LMGTE Pro class was won convincingly by the No.92 Porsche Team Manthey entered Porsche 911 RSR of Frederic Makowiecki and Patrick Pilet. In what was an ultra-successful day for the team, Richard Lietz celebrated becoming the champion in the FIA World Endurance Cup for GT Drivers, as he came home in fourth place today alongside team mate Michael Christensen.

LMGTE AM went the way of the No.98 Aston Martin Racing Vantage V8 of Pedro Lamy, Paul Dalla Lana and Mathias Lauda after a late race battle with both the Abu Dhabi Proton Porsche and the Dempsey Proton Porsche.

SMP Racing’s Ferrari 458 Italia, crewed by Victor Shaytar, Aleksey Basov and Andrea Bertolini came home fifth in class to collect enough points to take the class titles.

Full story soon