Signatech Alpine celebrates Le Mans win (+video)
Photo: WEC/Adrenal Media

Signatech Alpine celebrates Le Mans win (+video)

Signatech Alpine Matmut was presented with the treasured 24 Hours of Le Mans trophy at Fuji today after recently being confirmed as the winner of the LMP2 category at the event which was held in June of this year.

The trophy was presented by President of the Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO) Pierre Fillon to Philippe Sinault, Team Principal of Signatech Alpine, together with Regis Fricotté, Commercial Director at Alpine, and the team’s Chief Mechanic, David Vincent.  

Drivers of the No.36 Alpine A470, Nicolas Lapierre, Pierre Thiriet and André Negrão, will go down in the record books as the victors of the LMP2 class making it two wins in three years at La Sarthe for Signatech Alpine.

The team also took the 2013 and 2014 European Le Mans Series titles as it established itself as one of the best LMP2 teams in recent endurance history.

“A win at Le Mans is always a special moment even if we have had to wait a long time to celebrate it and the champagne is a little warm,” said Philippe Sinault.

“Nevertheless, the victory is there and that’s the main thing for the team and the sport and we are very proud to bring this trophy to Alpine 40 years after its overall win at Le Mans in 1978.”

Signatech Alpine Matmut now concentrate on maintaining its slender advantage in the FIA WEC LMP2 classification which sees the team hold a 4-point advantage in both the drivers’ and teams’ Super Season title fight.