Points check: Super Season title fights hot up
Photo: WEC/Adrenal Media

Points check: Super Season title fights hot up

After an action-packed and absorbing 6 Hours of Fuji last weekend the latest FIA WEC provisional points standings have seen all of the four categories develop interesting plot twists!

After taking their first Super Season win of the year, Mike Conway, José María López and Kamui Kobayashi have leapt into second position in the FIA World Endurance LMP Drivers’ Championship. The trio now sit just 13 points behind the No.8 trio Le Mans victors Fernando Alonso, Sébastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima.

The FIA World Endurance LMP1 championship sees Toyota stretch its lead to 14 points over the Rebellion Racing squad which claimed third place in Japan but only had one of its cars finish the race.

In the GT FIA World Endurance Drivers’ Championship, Fuji winners Kevin Estre and Michael Christensen extend their lead to a healthy 31 points over the No.66 Ford GT duo of Stefan Mücke and Olivier Pla.

Porsche hold a 52-point cushion over Ford in the GT Manufacturers FIA World Championship with Ferrari in third place a further 16 points back. 

The LMP2 standings are the closest of all with just a single point covering the top three places and the top nine drivers! Signatech Alpine Matmut’s squad of Nicolas Lapierre, André Negrão and Pierre Thiriet still top the table on 87 points. 

However significant two-pronged pressure is being applied by the two Jackie Chan DC Racing crews of No.38’s Ho-Pin Tung, Stéphane Richelmi, Gabriel Aubry and the No.37 all-Malaysian squad of Weiron Tan, Jazeman Jaafar and Nabil Jeffri. The FIA Endurance Trophy for LMP2 Teams mirrors the drivers’ points with Signatech holding a one point advantage.

The LMGTE Am Drivers’ standings see Christian Ried, Julien Andlauer and Matt Campbell of Dempsey Proton Racing still at the head of the standings by 14 points, while the Fuji win for Team Project 1’s Egidio Perfetti, Jörg Bergmeister and Patrick Lindsey sees them elevated to second position.  The same margin applies between the two Porsche teams in the FIA Endurance Trophy for GTE Am teams.