Entries for WEC season-opener in Sebring announced

The entry list for the 2023 FIA World Endurance Championship (FIA WEC) season-opener – the 1000 Miles of Sebring (17 March) – has been revealed.

Click HERE to view the entry list.

The entry list for the 1000 Miles of Sebring features a total of 37 cars including 11 Hypercars representing seven different manufacturers (Cadillac, Ferrari, Peugeot, Porsche, Toyota, Glickenhaus and Vanwall).  Once again, the season will begin at the iconic Sebring International Raceway in Florida, USA - the scene of the inaugural WEC race just over a decade ago.


Defending World Champions Toyota Gazoo Racing have an unchanged driver line-up for 2023 but will face stiff competition from six other marques including Porsche Penske Motorsport and Ferrari AF Corse who transfer their factory racing efforts from LMGTE Pro to Hypercar in 2023. Ferrari’s all-new Ferrari 499P will enter the WEC 50 years after the 312 P made its last appearance in the premier class.

Peugeot TotalEnergies will enter two Peugeot 9X8 Hybrid Hypercars, with home driver Gustavo Menezes sure to be a crowd pleaser alongside fellow Californian, Dane Cameron (Porsche Penske Motorsport). American-flagged teams Cadillac Racing and Glickenhaus Racing will also benefit from plenty of home support as both teams enter one car at Sebring. Finally, Floyd Vanwall Racing Team will be in Sebring with its all-new Vanwall Vandervell 680 and former F1 World Champion Jacques Villeneuve at the wheel.


There will be 12 entries in LMP2 at Sebring including Hertz Team JOTA who will compete with an Oreca 07 Gibson before swapping to the Hypercar later this season. As always, the category attracts several high-profile names including former Formula 1 driver Daniil Kyvat who is entered with Prema Racing alongside French female driver, Doriane Pin. Another former F1 star, Robert Kubica, has been named to drive for Team WRT – the Belgian squad who won the LMP2 title in 2021, returning with a two-car entry for 2024.

Alpine Elf Team will prepare for its 2023 Hypercar campaign with a two-car effort in LMP2 while British squad United Autosports will field two of the championship’s youngest drivers with 17-year-old Josh Pierson as the only home driver at Sebring from the LMP2 line-up, and WEC debutant – 18-year-old Frederick Lubin. They will be joined at United Autosports by experienced endurance drivers Filipe Albuquerque, Tom Blomqvist, Oliver Jarvis and Phil Hanson. Other LMP2 entries include Italian powerhouse Prema Racing, British outfit Vector Sport, and Polish squad Inter Europol Competition.


Meanwhile in the LMGTE Am class where both professional and amateur drivers share the cars, the home fans will be cheering for Corvette Racing and American driver Ben Keating. Keating will be joined in the Chevrolet Corvette C8.R by Nicolas Varonne and Nicky Catsburg. A further six American drivers will race in GTE Am including Simon Mann (AF Corse), Michael Dinan (ORT by TF), PJ Hyett and Gunnar Jeannette (Project 1 AO), Scott Huffaker (Kessel Racing) and Ryan Hardwick (Proton Competition).

The No. 77 Porsche 911 RSR entry also has close ties to the USA due to the co-ownership of celebrated actor and 2014 Le Mans podium finisher, Patrick Dempsey. Finally, a total of four females will compete in the GTE Am category as No. 85 Iron Dames entry returns with Sarah Bovy, Michelle Gatting and Rahel Frey as well as Lilou Wadoux who will drive the No. 83 Richard Mille AF Corse Ferrari.

The WEC action begins with the Prologue pre-season test event at Sebring from 11-12 March. Official track action starts on Wednesday 15 March, with the 1000 Miles of Sebring getting underway at midday local time on Friday 17 March. 

Race Timetable (local US time)

Wednesday 15 March

Free Practice 1: 10:55 - 11:55 

Free Practice 2: 16:35 - 17:35 

Thursday 16 March

Free Practice 3: 11:55 - 12:55

Qualifying: 18:30 - 19:35

Friday 17 March

Race: 12:00 - 20:00

For Sebring ticketing information, click HERE