FIA World Endurance Champions honored at FIA prize-giving
Photo: FIA

FIA World Endurance Champions honored at FIA prize-giving

The annual FIA prize-giving saw the FIA WEC Super Season champions honored at a glittering ceremony at Carrousel du Louvre in Paris last night.

Toyota Gazoo Racing took the LMP1 Teams’ Trophy while its trio of drivers Fernando Alonso, Sébastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima collected their drivers’ silverware after winning five out of eight races in the Super Season.

“I remember every lap of this championship, which was strange as it lasted one year and a half!” said Alonso. “In 2018 I was combining two World Championships – F1 and Endurance – which was very intense, but I loved the experience. Every World Championship is unique, and it’s nice to sit here as World Champion again.”

In a Super Season with five GTE manufacturers - Aston Martin, BMW, Ferrari, Ford and Porsche, it was Porsche that took its first FIA World Endurance Manufacturers’ Championship since 2015.  Team-mates Kevin Estre and Michael Christensen were in attendance to claim their LMGTE Pro trophy.  

Fritz Enzinger and Pascal Zurlinden of Porsche with FIA GT Champions Kevin Estre and Michael Christensen

The LMP2 title was won by French Signatech Alpine as Nicolas Lapierre, André Negrão and Pierre Thiriet picked up the silverware.  

As Porsche won in LMGTE Pro, so it did in LMGTE Am thanks to Team Project 1 and its three drivers: Jörg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey and Egidio Perfetti.