Final version of Fuji entry list revealed
Photo: WEC / Adrenal

Final version of Fuji entry list revealed

The updated 6 Hours of Fuji entry list reveals Formula 2 driver Luca Ghiotto and former Audi LMP1 factory driver Oliver Jarvis have been added to the FIA WEC line-up for Japan.

To view the entry list for round 2 of WEC Season 8, click HERE.

Team LNT confirmed earlier this week that successful F2 driver Luca Ghiotto – who tested the Ginetta G60-LT-P1 AER car at the WEC Prologue in July – will drive for the British-based team in Japan. 

Italy’s Ghiotto will join Ben Hanley and Egor Orudzhev in the No. 5 Ginetta G60-LT-P1 AER while confirmed to drive the No. 6 car will be Ginetta factory drivers Charlie Robertson and Mike Simpson who will team up with former Le Mans winner, Guy Smith.

Meanwhile, 2014 World Endurance Champion Anthony Davidson will return to driving duty for JOTA in Fuji after the TV pundit was forced to sit out of the WEC season-opener at Silverstone last month due to an injury.  

The only other change to the entry list is the confirmation of Britain’s Oliver Jarvis who will compete alongside his former team-mate Filipe Albuquerque and Phil Hanson in the No. 22 United Autosports Oreca 07 Gibson entry.  Jarvis will replace Paul di Resta who is unable to compete at Fuji due to a DTM clash - a commitment that pre-dated di Resta’s WEC programme.

Jarvis commented: “I am delighted to be racing with United Autosports in the Fuji WEC race and whilst it will be the first time for me at United, I feel like I already know the team having raced for Richard Dean at JLR in the 2003 Formula Ford Festival. Having watched the team closely over the years and seeing the extremely professional job they have done and now with the move into the WEC with the Oreca chassis I have no doubt they will be one of the favourites for the championship.”

The WEC 6 Hours of Fuji gets underway in just over two weeks’ time and will be staged at the iconic Fuji Speedway, 100km south-west of Tokyo.  Free practice will commence on Friday 4 October, with qualifying set to take place at 13h10 local time on Saturday 5 October.  The green flag will be dropped to signal the start of the 6 Hours of Fuji at 11h00 on Sunday 6 October.

For more information including ticketing, please click HERE.