Title Fights Enter Crucial Final Stage

Close title fights will go down to the wire in Bahrain. Find out who could be crowned champions.....

The 2022 FIA WEC season is about to enter a period of intense anticipation as the final round at the BAPCO 8 Hours of Bahrain gets set to crown new champions.

After another fascinating race at last weekend’s 6 Hours of Fuji, the fights for the silverware are hotting up as teams, manufacturers and drivers start to dream of being crowned champions at the Bahrain International Circuit in November.

In the Hypercar World Endurance Manufacturers Championship Toyota extended their lead over Alpine to 26 points and now firmly sit in the box seat to retain the title.

After one retirement apiece for the Toyotas in the first two races, Alpine’s Andre Negrao, Matthieu Vaxiviere and Nicolas Lapierre sat atop the drivers’ table but they have now been usurped by the No.8 Toyota Gazoo Racing trio of Brendon Hartley, Ryo Hirakawa and Sebastien Buemi. However, this is only on countback results as the six drivers are all dead level on 121 points heading to Bahrain.

In the GT FIA World Endurance Drivers Championship, Ferrari enjoys the slenderest lead of a single point over Porsche as the title shapes up to be another classic encounter between the age-old rivals.

The title scrap for the GT FIA World Endurance Drivers’ Championship sees No.51 AF Corse Ferrari pairing, Alessandro Pier Guidi and James Calado lead Porsche’s No.92 crew of Kevin Estre and Michael Christensen by 11-points after Calado and Pier Guidi’s excellent win at Fuji Speedway.

Once the closest title fight, LMP2 looks set to be JOTAs for the taking as Antonio Felix da Costa, Will Stevens and Roberto Gonzalez increased their lead to 28 points over the United Autosport’s USA pairing of Joshua Pierson and Oliver Jarvis.

The LMP2 Pro/Am division swung back to the No.83 AF Corse crew of Alessio Rovera, Nicklas Nielsen and Francois Perrodo after they took a third victory of the season in Japan. But their points advantage is just eight points over Algarve PRO’s James Allen, Steven Thomas and Rene Binder.

The LMGTE Am category’s FIA Endurance Trophy for GTE Am drivers crown now appears to be TF Sport’s to lose as Ben Keating and Marco Sorensen, with the help of Henrique Chaves who missed the first round in Sebring so therefore is not in title contention, hold a 20-points cushion over the No.98 Northwest AMR crew of Paul Dalla Lana, David Pittard and Nicki Thiim.

Click HERE for the latest points