Updates to Total 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps entry list
Photo: WEC/Adrenal Media

Updates to Total 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps entry list

Since the entry list for the opening round of the WEC Super Season was announced, the Prologue has been and gone and the final pieces of the jigsaw puzzle have now fallen into place for the driver line ups of the 25 different teams.

A WEC record-breaking 37 cars (24 Hours of Le Mans events excepted) will line up for the start of the Belgian race with 10 cars in LMP1, 8 in LMP2, 10 in LMGTE Pro and 9 in LMGTE Am.

Dominik Kraihamer and Oliver Webb

In LMP1 the ByKolles Racing Team from Austria has confirmed that well-known WEC drivers Dominik Kraihamer (AUT) and Tom Dillmann (FRA) will join Oliver Webb (GBR) in the No.4 ENSO CLM P1/01-Nismo.  Kraihamer, while competing with Rebellion Racing, won the FIA Endurance Trophy for LMP1 Private drivers in 2016 but sat out the WEC last season.

Also now in place is the whole CEFC TRSM Racing squad for the No.5 and No.6 Ginetta G60-LT-P1-Mechachrome entries, the new additions joining the previously announced drivers to form a very strong line up.  Joining Charlie Robertson (GBR) in the No.5 will be Dean Stoneman (GBR) and Léo Roussel (FRA), while alongside Oliver Rowland (GBR) in the No.6 will be fellow Britons Alex Brundle and Oliver Turvey – the 2014 LMP2 Le Mans winner making his return to the WEC for the first time since that year. 

CEFC TRSM Racing Ginetta G60-LT-P1-Mechachrome

In LMP2, making a guest appearance in the run-up to Le Mans, is 2018 European Le Mans Series entrant, G-Drive Racing’s No.26 ORECA 07-Gibson.  Two of its drivers need no introduction – Roman Rusinov (RUS), 2015 LMP2 Champion, and former F1 driver Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA); they are joined by young French driver Andrea Pizzitola who raced last year in the ELMS and alongside Sir Chris Hoy at the 2016 edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

LMGTE Pro features confirmation from BMW Team MTEK that the No.81 BMW M8 GTE will be driven by Martin Tomczyk (DEU) and Nicky Catsburg (NLD) while Tom Blomqvist (GBR) will be substituting for Augusto Farfus alongside Antonio Felix da Costa (PRT) in the No.82 due to the Brazilian being on DTM duty the same weekend.

Finally, 19-year-old French Porsche driver Julien Andlauer lines up alongside WEC stalwart Christian Ried (DEU) and fellow WEC newcomer Matt Campbell (AUS) in the No.77 Dempsey-Proton Racing Porsche 911 RSR in LMGTE Am.  

37 cars from 25 teams and no fewer than 104 drivers representing an incredible 27 different nations.  One thing will be certain: victory will be hard fought for in all four classes, and well celebrated somewhere in the world!