2020 Le Mans entries open and new Hyperpole format introduced
Photo: Photo Copyright 2019 Joao Filipe/AdrenalMedia.com

2020 Le Mans entries open and new Hyperpole format introduced

To coincide with the opening of applications for the 2020 24 Hours of Le Mans (13-14 June), which will be open from today until 13 February, the ACO has announced a brand new qualifying format – Le Mans Hyperpole.

As usual, the entry list for Le Mans will be drawn up by the Selection Committee. They will first validate the invitations already allotted and the entries from the WEC grid, before studying the applications submitted between now and the closing date.

The traditional qualifying session for the 24 Hours of Le Mans has also been shaken up for 2020. There will now be two stages, designed to encourage sheer speed and some spectacular track action.
On Wednesday, from 23h15 to midnight, there will be a 45-minute qualifying session when all entries in the race will take to the track at the same time. At the end of this session, 24 competitors – the six best in each class – will go on to compete in a new “Hyperpole” session the next day when the first six places on the grid will be determined for each class.

For more information on the entry process and the new Hyperpole format, you can read more on the ACO website HERE.