WEC Super Season Champions honoured in Bahrain
Photo: WEC / Adrenal

WEC Super Season Champions honoured in Bahrain

Last night the FIA WEC honoured its Super Season champions at a glittering prize-giving ceremony at the Softel hotel in Bahrain.

Toyota Gazoo Racing team-mates and 2018/2019 WEC LMP1 Drivers’ Champions Fernando Alonso, Sébastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima were reunited at the event to collect their trophies.  

Porsche GT Team’s Michael Christensen and Kevin Estre picked up their silverware for winning the LMGTE Pro title for Porsche, while Signatech Alpine Elf Pierre Thiriet, Nicolas Lapierre and André Negrão collected the LMP2 trophy.  

Finally, Team Project 1 and its trio of drivers Jörg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey and Egidio Perfetti were there to collect their LMGTE Am prize.  A selection of images from the evening can be found below.

The special ceremony also included a screening of the official FIA awards video (below) featuring the best moments from the Super Season.

One of the most poignant and well received awards in the room was the Pierre Coiffier Award, presented to TDS Racing.  Awarded in memory of the WEC organisation’s much-missed colleague, the French TDS team was recognised and applauded for its sense of community, spirit and friendship. Together with many others in the paddock, in Shanghai 2018 TDS Racing unloaded the freight and helped prepare the pit garage for rivals Signatech Alpine who were delayed in Russia due to aircraft issues.